imageHave you ever looked at a person you’re passing on the street, and thought to yourself “I bet they are a diabetic.”  I bet you haven’t.  You could insert any number of silent, hidden killers into that question, but for the topic of today’s post we will leave it at diabetic.  Diabetes is a slow, silent disease.  It’s progress is brutal when left untreated or let to remain uncontrolled.  It is estimated by the American Diabetes Assosiation that there are 8.1 million Americans who have undiagnosed diabetes.  It is imperative that we raise awareness of the symptoms of diabetes and improve access to testing.  Millions of people, many of which are on the lower end of the economic scale, have poor access to health care of any type.  Unfortunately these are the very individuals with the highest risk for developing Type 2 diabetes.  What can we do to help?  Educate, become advocates, increase awareness.   You are probably thinking “Gee, Gem is passionate about this fight.”  I am!  You see I am a diabetic, diagnosed in 1999.  In the paragraphs that follow I will share my personal story, in hopes it will help increase awareness about this invisible illness.

I was one of those people without health insurance, I took care of myself as best I could, but medical test just were not affordable.  I had battled weight issues all of my adult life, and had several of the early warning signs, including a family history of diabetes.  When I married in 1999, my husband was able to insure me under his plan at work.  I made an appointment and the Doctor did a full battery of tests.  My fasting blood glucose was 175.  Instead of saying here, cut back on carbs and see how this goes, my physician was aggressive in my treatment.  I have no idea how long I’d been a diabetic, but I moved to take control.  Imagine, weighing each bite you take with the nutritional value it provides.  Sticking your finger 6-8 times a day to see just how particular foods affected your blood glucose values.  Logging not just the numbers, but facts about your daily exercise, emotional health, and general wellness on a daily basis.  It’s work, it’s depressing, and yes those pricks hurt. I am fortunate that with the exception of menopause I have been able to control my diabetes without medications.  My HgAIC runs 5.3-5.6 on a regular basis……but it takes application, self education, and a lot of hard work.  So far I’ve held off the damage uncontrolled blood sugar can cause.  But this story doesn’t end here.

My husband was diagnosed in 2000 with Type 2, he refused to follow a meal plan, take his mess, and skipped regular testing.  I watched as his body slowly succumbed to the damage to his major organs. His legs filled with water and developed ulcers, his veins narrowed, he had multiple heart attacks, the arteries leading to his brain narrowed causing memory and mental health issues.  Ultimately a stroke caused by poor blood flow to the brain took his life.  All these as a direct result of diabetes.

If you are diagnosed with diabetes, find a team of medical partners who can help devise an individual treatment plan for you, then follow that plan.  Educate those around you, become an advocate for issues surrounding this horrid disease.  The life you save may be your own.

I am happy to have an opportunity to work with Team Diabetes in Second Life.  I will continue to lift my voice and speak out, not only about diabetes but many other invisible illnesses.

Until next time,

Gem

Leave a comment